Male, Female athlete of the year

Charlie Craven & MK Kelly take Clinton High's top athletic awards

Charlie Craven and Mary Katherine (MK) Kelly were named the Male and Female Athlete of the Year tonight by Clinton High School Athletics. Retired coach Jo Webb received a special recognition Service Award from her friend and fellow coach, Bill Rhodes.

Craven was Most Valuable Player in varsity baseball and varsity football. He has a 4.56 GPA.

Kelly was Sportsmanship winner for varsity softball, also competing in tennis and basketball. She has a 4.7 GPA.

CHS Athletics celebrated a spring season in which girls track has 9 All-Conference players, 5 record-breakers, 6 athletes to compete in the State Finals, an All-State player, Keria Dendy, and a Player of the Year, Maya Smith. Boys tennis advanced to the State Finals, won a Region Championship, has 4 All-Conference players, 3 participants in the State Singles Tournament, Player of the Year & All-State, Isaac MacMillan, and Coach of the Year Clovis Simmons. Also, Sean Vick was named boys varsity soccer conference Coach of the Year.

Soccer has  4 All-Conference players, and All-State Parker Duncan. Varsity baseball has 3 All-Conference players, softball 1 All-Conference and 1 North/South All-Star. Athletic Trainer Nora Ann Pace was on the North/South All-Star medical staff.

The 2017 Spring Sports Awards Ceremony is sponsored by the Clinton High School Athletic Booster Club.

Complete list of awards in 15 spring sports (MVP, sportsmanship, hustle, most improved and two special awards) BELOW; more details in the May 24th issue of The Clinton Chronicle.



The CHS Athletic Department and Booster Club hosted the 2017 Spring Sports Award program on Wednesday, May 17.  The following student-athletes and their coaches were recognized.  Congratulations to all and GO BIG RED!

Athletic Trainer of the Year:  Makenzie Gault

Girls’ Soccer MVP:  Skylar Rehwinkle

Girls’ Soccer Sportsmanship:  Olivia Moore

JV Boys’ Soccer Hustle Award:  Zeke Case

Varsity Boys’ Soccer MVP:  Elvis Fitz

Varsity Boys’ Soccer Sportsmanship:  Jon Barnes

Boys’ Tennis MVP:  Isaac MacMillan

Boys’ Tennis Kevin Donald Adams Award:  Robert Powell

Boys’ Tennis Sportsmanship:  Kyler Simmons

Boys’ Track Field Event MVP:  PJ Bluford

Boys’ Track Running MVP:  William Scott

Girls’ Track Field Event MVP:  Keria Dendy

Girls’ Track Running MVP:  Maya Smith

Girls’ Track Most Improved:  Aaliyah Johnston

Golf MVP:  Lawrence Coleman

Golf Sportsmanship:  Justin Snead

C-Team Baseball Hustle Award:  Blake Barker

JV Baseball Hustle Award:  Austin Long

Varsity Baseball MVP:  Charlie Craven

Varsity Baseball Cal Gault Award:  Cameron Bishop

Varsity Baseball Sportsmanship:  Hunter Odom

Girls’ Lacrosse MVP:  Alexis Pagano

Girls’ Lacrosse Sportsmanship:  Beth Meadors

C-Team Softball Hustle Award:  Maddi Wood

JV Softball Hustle Award:  Beth Wiggins

Varsity Softball MVP:  Makayla Pearson

Varsity Softball Sportsmanship:  MK Kelly

Female Athlete of the Year:  MK Kelly

Male Athlete of the Year:  Charlie Craven

Baseball All Region Players:  Cameron Bishop, Aaron Copeland, Charlie Craven

North/South All Star:

Makayla Pearson, Softball

Nora Ann Pace,  Athletic Training

Softball All Region Player:  Hunter Benson

Boys’ Tennis All Region Players:  Isaac MacMillan, Robert Powell, Tyler Trevino, Ike Waldron

Boys’ Tennis Region Player of the Year:  Isaac MacMillan

Boys’ Tennis Region Coach of the Year:  Clovis Simmons

Boys’ Tennis State Singles Tournament:  Isaac MacMillan, Ike Waldron, Anders Orr

Girls’ Track All Region Athletes:  Maya Smith, Keria Dendy, Quiana Suber, Tu’nidra Richey, Aaliyah Johnston, Deasia Boyd, Paige Trent, Ava Machione, Erykah Richards

Girls’ Track Record Breakers:  Keria Dendy, Paige Trent, Deasia Boyd, Ava Machione, Eryka Richards

Girls’ Track State Finalists:  Deasia Boyd, Maya Smith, Tu’nidra Richey, Aaliyah Johnston, Quiana Suber, Keria Dendy

Girls’ Track All State:  Keria Dendy

Girls’ Track Region Athlete of the Year:  Maya Smith

Boys’ Soccer All Region Players:  Parker Duncan, Luke Mann, Elvis Fitz, Jack Harkins

Boys’ Soccer All State Player:  Parker Duncan

Boys’ Soccer Region Coach of the Year:  Sean Vick

My Clinton News

P.O. Box 180
513 North Broad St.
Clinton, SC 29325
Phone: (864) 833-1900
Fax: (864) 833-1902

Privacy Policy


Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to My Clinton News Newsletter feed
Comment Here